Why does stainless steel not rust?

Stainless contains a minimum of 10.5% chromium. This chromium reacts quickly with oxygen to form a thin oxide layer on the steel's surface. Unlike iron oxide, which often is in the form of flaky and corrosive rust, the chromium oxide clings to the steel. It therefore acts as a protective barrier.