Where does the expression heavens to betsy come from?

Several theories have been put forth, but no one really knows where it came from, although we know it first appeared in the US in mid 19th century. The etymologist Charles Earle Funk ventured the opinion that the origins of 'Heavens to Betsy' were "completely unsolvable"