Is a c. l. a mammal?

These three groups are monotremes, marsupials, and the largest group, placental mammals. Monotremes are mammals that lay eggs. The only monotremes that are alive today are the spiny anteater, or echidna, and the platypus. They live in Australia, Tasmania, and New Guinea.