When does a hippo have a tucks?

The hippopotamus has large tusks in both jaws, representing the upper incisors and the lower canines. The largest and most tusk-like teeth are the lower canines, and they are used as offensive weapons. The canines can be up to 1 m long and have a strip of enamel on one surface.