What's the difference between the united states and america?

Although the terms are sometimes used interchangeably, America can also refer to the continents of North and South America, and the connecting Central America, which have many countries within them. The United States of America, is just One country, in North America, comprised of 50 states.

---

North and South America are Continents which are comprised of 23 and 12 countries respectively. The United States of America is a country comprised of 50 States.