How are batteries recycled?

The broken battery pieces go into a vat, where the lead and heavy materials fall to the bottom while the plastic rises to the top. The plastic pieces are scooped away and the liquids are drawn off, leaving the lead and heavy metals. Each of the materials then begins its own recycling journey.