What kind of respiration requires oxygen?

Cellular respiration can occur both aerobically (using oxygen), or anaerobically (without oxygen). During aerobic cellular respiration, glucose reacts with oxygen, forming ATP that can be used by the cell. Carbon dioxide and water are created as byproducts.