Is it okay to put orange peels down a garbage disposal?

Although most vegetable skins are harmful to your garbage disposal, citrus rinds can be beneficial. Lemon and orange peels can clean out your garbage disposal and leave your kitchen smelling fresh. Make sure its tiny pieces.