What is a quasi particle?

What is the meaning of quasi particle? The termQuasi particles describes a physical concept, which treats elementary excitations in solids, like spin waves, as particles. As the particles do not consist of matter, they are called quasi particles.

---

A concept treats elementary excitations in solids like spin waves as particles. Quasiparticles and collective excitations are closely related emergent phenomena arising when microscopically complicated system like a solid behaves as if it contained different weakly interacting particles in vacuum