Why are cats afraid of water?

Not all cats are afraid of water. Some enjoy swimming, but that is unusual. Cats that don't like water probably don't like it because of three reasons: 1. It weights down their fur 2. It causes their body temperature to drop 3. If there are chemicals in it, they may not like the way it smells.