What keeps the earth core hot?

The earth's core is solid. It is composed of crystalline iron with a temperature of around 11,000 degrees. The heat came from when the planet was formed. The core is actually cooling down but since it is surrounded by a mantle it does so very very slowly. It is like wearing a coat in the cold.