Can you clean cast iorn with soap?

Cast iron pans should only be cleaned with soap if they need to be resurfaced and re-seasoned. Generally, scrubbing with hot water and an abrasive sponge will prevent your cast iron from shedding the seasoned surface. Avoid surfactants and acids, and maintain season coating with oil regularly.