How is the unemployment rate calculated?

The formula for unemployment rate is: Unemployment Rate - Number of Unemployed Persons Labor Force. The labor force is the sum of unemployed and employed persons. By dividing the number of individuals whom are unemployed by labor force, you'll find the labor force participation, or unemployment rate