What's the shawshank redemption?

The Shawshank Redemption is an American film from 1994 based on the Stephen King Novella "Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption" It tells the story of banker Andy Dufresne, sentenced to life in Shawshank Penitentiary for the murders of his wife and her lover, despite his claims of innocence.