What is the whomping willow?

The most famous Whomping Willow is the one planted on the grounds of Hogwarts. The Whomping Willow was planted around the year 1971 to disguise the opening of a secret passage leading from the Hogwarts grounds to the Shrieking Shack in the village of Hogsmeade. It had a small knot near the base.