What is the whomping willow?

The most famous Whomping Willow is the one planted on the grounds of Hogwarts. The Whomping Willow was planted around the year 1971 to disguise the opening of a secret passage leading from the Hogwarts grounds to the Shrieking Shack in the village of Hogsmeade. It had a small knot near the base.

---

The Whomping Willow is a large rare tree, capable of moving its limbs quickly and violently when threatened. It was placed by Dumbeldore on the Hogwarts grounds to guard the secret passageway that opens from Hogwarts to the shrieking shack. It was introduced in Harry Potter :The Chamber of Secrets.