How does your body heat?

Thermogenesis. The body's muscles, organs, and brain produce heat in various ways. For example, muscles produce heat by shivering. Hormonal thermogenesis: The thyroid gland releases hormones to increase your metabolism. This increases the energy your body creates and the amount of heat it produces.