Why do you have to rinse rice?

Rinsing the rice removes any debris, and most importantly, it removes the surface starch that otherwise causes the rice to clump together or get gummy as it cooks.

---

The main reason to rinse is to remove surface starch from rice grains, which makes them gummy as they cook. Soaking allows rice to absorb water, giving it a leg up on cooking. This helps it to have a better, more even texture, instead of drying out while the inside is not evenly steamed and fluffed.