Is the placenta an organ?

The placenta is an organ that develops in the uterus during pregnancy. It provides oxygen and nutrients to the growing embryo and fetus, and removes waste products. It attaches to the wall of the uterus, and the umbilical cord arises from it. When not pregnant, a female mammal has no placenta.