How did margaret thatcher leave office?

Margaret Thatcher resigned from her position as prime minister and leader in 1990.

---

She resigned as prime minister and party leader in 1990, after a challenge was launched to her leadership. After retiring from the Commons in 1992, she was given a life peerage as Baroness Thatcher (of Kesteven in the County of Lincolnshire) which entitled her to sit in the House of Lords.