How much sun does basil need?

Basil needs a warm and sunny spot to thrive. 6 to 8 hours of direct sunlight is perfect, though if you live in a really hot climate, you may want to give your basil some afternoon shade. For basil to take off, the soil and air need to be fairly warm, so avoid putting out your plants in the spring.