Is superman bulletproof?

Originally, Superman's invulnerability was more aptly described as being bulletproof. This is amply shown in some of the earlier animated shorts - Superman shows visible reactions to powerful blasts (though he does usually overcome them) and ducks out of the way of things like tank shells.