What is coconut sugar used for?

Coconut sugar is an unrefined sugar made from the sap of the cut flower buds of the coconut palm. It tastes more like brown sugar than it does coconut and has a low glycemic index. Because coconut sugar has a darker almost earthy flavor, it’s used in baking recipes using chocolate or warm spices.