What are alfalfa sprouts?

They're the sprouts of the alfalfa plant when it first starts to grow. The only part humans consume as the mature plant is quite bitter. Alfalfa sprouts used to be popular until the were found to be prone to carry food-borne illnesses like e. coli and salmonella.