How do you get a surfboard in pokemon shield?

To obtain the Surf TM, traverse through the Wild Area and talk to the Vendor Wearing Black & White. Purchase the TM for 5,000 Watts. To surf across the water, beat the sixth gym. Soon after, help the guy who gave you your bike by defeating Team Yell.