Who is spartacus?

Spartacus was a Thracian warrior that may have deserted the Roman army. Sold into slavery, he became a Gladiator. He was leader of 70 gladiators that escaped a training camp. This group grew and revolted against Rome in the Gladiatorial War, 73 B C to 71 B C. Spartacus died in battle in 71 B C.