Why do stars flicker?

The stars twinkle in the night sky because of the effects of our atmosphere. When starlight enters our atmosphere it is affected by winds in the atmosphere and by areas with different temperatures and densities. This causes the light from the star to twinkle when seen from the ground.

---

Stars only seem to flicker due to turbulent air in the earths atmosphere bending the star's light.