Are doge's real?

A doge was an elected lord and chief of state in several Italian city-states, notably Venice and Genoa, during the medieval and renaissance periods. Doge, or doggo, is also an internet meme made popular by Kabosu, a Shiba Inu, in which a dog "speaks" in broken English.