What's the difference between a subsidized loan and a unsubsidized loan?

A subsidized loan has the backing of an entity who has greater credit than the applicant, normally a government entity, who often provides a guarantee should the applicant not meet their obligations which provides greater security for the lender. Unsubsidized loans are backed only by the applicant.