How does a plasma cutter work?

Plasma cutters form an electrical arc from the cutter nozzle, through a high speed stream of gas being blown at the metal to be cut and then back to the cutter via a grounding clamp. The electrical arc ionises the gas and superheats it to a plasma. This plasma melts the metal where it is being cut.