What is the definition of moonshine?

Moonshine is a type of reflected light caused by the surface reflecting light from the sun. The moon only reflects between 3-12% of the sunlight that hits it. Brightness depends on where the moon is in its orbit around the planet. During its journey, it's lit from varying angles by the sun.