What's a dimmer?

A dimmer is an electrical control device installed in the wiring to adjust the brightness of a lamp.

---

A "dimmer" typically refers to an electrical switch that controls the amount of electricity flowing to a light source, which in turn controls the brightness or amount of light it emits. A dimmer switch and light source need to be compatible or it may not work properly or at all.