Why did germany invade poland in world war two?

Some territory had been taken from Germany and given to Poland at the end of WW I. Hitler invaded Poland under the pretext of restoring this territory to Germany. In addition, Germany and the Soviet Union had a deal under which they'd invade Poland and split up the conquered lands