Who invented m. and m.?

M&M's were first introduced in 1941 by Forrest Mars, Sr. Forrest got the idea for the candy after observing soldiers eating chocolate pellets with a hard shell during the Spanish Civil War. The candy was made with a hard shell so that soldiers could carry the chocolate during warm weather.