What materials are a good tambourine made of ?

A tambourine is typically made of wood or plastic, that is shaped into a circular frame. Small metal sheets, called “jingles” or “zills,” are evenly slotted into the frame. Part of the frame is left unadorned; that is where a hand grip is typically placed.