What's an animal's name?

An animal's name is the one given to them. It may refer to its appearance or personality, be chosen for endearment, or be in honor of a favorite celebrity. People give pet names to all sorts of animals. For example, popular names for dogs include Belle, Daisy, & Lucy; Max, Charlie, & Buddy.