What is heavier water or butane?

A pound of water weighs exactly the same as a pound of butane. A pound of water, however, takes up less volume than a pound of butane, so water is more dense: 997 Kg/m^3, compared to 573 kg/m^3 for butane. Therefore, butane will float on water.