What was the battle of gettysburg?

The Battle of Gettysburg marked the furthest advance of the Confederate army into Union territory. It ended in a decisive victory for the United States, and marked a major turning point in the American Civil War.

---

The Battle of Gettysburg was fought July 1–3, 1863, in Pennsylvania, by Union and Confederate forces during the American Civil War. The battle won by the Union involved the largest number of casualties of the entire war and is often described as the war's turning point.