How can you tell bean sprouts has gone bad?

Darkening roots, sliminess, and a musty odor are all signs that sprouts may be over the hill. The USDA recommends sprouts be stored at 32º F, which is colder than most grocery store produce department shelves. If the sprouts on display don't look very fresh, ask if there are more in the back cooler.