Why are buttons cute?

Cute originally was a shortening of acute, for “sharp-witted and clever,” but in the early 1800s it also took on its current meaning. Nobody remembers why you can be "as cute as a button" - it's just an old slang phrase that has stuck around for generations.

---

Buttons are small and small things are cute