How does an inhaler work?

An inhaler contains a mixture of medicine and aerosol. The cap is removed, and the mouthpiece of the inhaler is placed between the teeth. Then, the canister is pressed as the patient inhales through their mouth. The user then holds his or her breath to ensure that the medication reaches the lungs.