What's the difference between a ventilator and a respirator?

A respirator is a mask worn to filter out particulate & noxious substances (like germs, gases, & fine particles like dust). A ventilator is a machine that helps a patient breathe by pumping oxygen into the lungs. It includes a tube being inserted into the patient's windpipe, called intubation.

---

A respirator is used to protect a person who is working in an area with chemicals or perhaps germs. A ventilator is for patients to providing breathing assistance to patients for whom providing oxygen is not enough.