Why does an ostrich stick his head in the ground?

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand- they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, a bird puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it really does look like the birds are burying their heads in the sand!