What is defense against the dark arts?

In the fictional world of Harry Potter, Defense Against the Dark Arts was a class taught at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. In this class, students learned how to defend themselves against all aspects of the Dark Arts, including dark creatures, curses, hexes, and dueling.