Why is alcohol called booze?

According to the British Council, booze was once spelt bouse and comes from the medieval Dutch verb būsen, which means “to drink to excess”. The word first appeared in medieval English, but it is found more frequently in the 1500s, when it was used by “thieves and beggars”.