What does reductive do in harry potter?

The Reductor Curse (Reducto) was a curse that blasted solid objects to pieces. It was rather easy to reduce a target to a fine mist or a pile of ashes. Harry Potter taught this curse to Dumbledore's Army during the 1995–1996 school year.