What is the westward expansion?

Westward expansion, the 19th-century movement of settlers into the American West, began with the Louisiana Purchase and was fueled by the Gold Rush, the Oregon Trail and a belief in "manifest destiny." By 1840 almost 7 million Americans migrated west in hopes of securing land and being prosperous.