What are chili flakes?

Crushed red pepper or red pepper flakes is a condiment or spice consisting of dried and crushed red chili peppers. This condiment is most often produced from cayenne-type peppers, although commercial producers may use a variety of different peppers usually within 30,000–50,000 Scoville unit range.