How long do you have to go to school to be a doctor?

In the United States one must complete a four-year undergraduate (bachelor's degree) program before enrolling in a four year post-graduate (doctoral degree) medical school program. To be a practicing physician one must then complete 3 to seven years of residency training depending on specialty.