What happened in the year two thousand?

Highlights: Y2K, Century leap year, Tokyo train disaster, 6-year-old Elián González returned to Cuba, Mac OSX public beta, Martin County KY coal sludge spill (worse than Exxon Valdez spill), ILOVEYOU virus, USS Cole attacked by Al Qaeda bombers, Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant shutdown.