How many cups of water to cups of brown rice?

For long-grain brown rice, use 1 1/4 cups water to 1 cup rice. For short-grain, use 1 1/2 cups water. Quick Cooking Time: Bring rice, water, and salt (1/4 teaspoon per cup of rice) to a boil.